top of page

Foolish Pleasure

I believe poetry has admirable power to reflect the issues in society, the subjectivity of poetry allows the reader to create a meaning personal to them. I created this poem in order to reflect the arguably distorted society we live in.

The race is a simple metaphor for wider society, a young woman is present at one particular fictional race, with non-fictional horses. Her experiences and thoughts are shared. There is not one hidden message to this poem as it is open to interpretation.

This is my first post of my work.


Foolish pleasure’, fitting name if you ask me. Hardly rude,

I sat there, next to an old rich man shouting ‘Game on dude!’

People put money on horses, they were ‘Seeking The Gold

“Smile more, enjoy this! Relax” I was told.


Red Rum, Red Rum, RED RUM’ the men chant,

Should I tell them the meaning? No, I shouldn’t! I wouldn’t! I cant.

But murder spelled backwards, clever I thought.

“Sing along darling, make it fun” I was taught.


Shergar’ ran behind ‘Red Rum’, then overtook

Then he disappeared, the crowd couldn’t look.

The most purebred horse, loved by everyone.

Took for ransom, found dead. ‘Red Rum’.


The innocent sport, addictive at best.

Stupid names, ‘Seabiscuit’ ‘Storm Cat’ and the rest.

Daylight robbery, three or four thieves sitting at the stall.

Taking the money from young and old, of those short and tall.


“Darling have fun!” I was told by the men at the race.

It was cold, it was wet. Not a smile on my face.

The deaths, the addiction, the loss of the money

Foolish pleasure’ I giggled, God this is funny.





124 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page