top of page

The Lockdowns.

In this poem I discuss the naivety of the nation at the beginning of the pandemic. I share my personal experiences with the national lockdowns and the significant differences there are between March 2020 and January 2021.


"Schools are closed!" I heard my friends cry,

We ran to the shops to get hand wash and hair dye.

How unbelievable? The next two weeks will be a dream,

I read in the garden, surrounded by grass so green.


Locked in houses, and time when missing.

Two meter distance. No hugging. No kissing.

Each day the same, the sun carried on being bright

"Not too bad" I thought... Lockdown's alright.


It became tedious, days spent inside.

I clapped. I worried. I laughed. I cried.

Along came August, the end was near!

"Eat out to help out!" There was no more fear.

.......

"Exams are cancelled" my friends cautiously said,

A sigh of relief, a brief break for the head.

Still exhausted and stressed. All time did was crawl.

Christmas was over and the rain did fall.


Locked in houses, each day felt the same.

Children with no lunch, Hancock to blame.

People did grieve, so much pain and despair.

It was becoming clear, Johnson didn't care.


The rollout of the vaccine, hope at last.

Time felt so slow yet the months moved so fast.

Where did they go? What a waste of a year.

No end in sight. No hope. Just fear.



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page